Allergenic Foods

 

Milk

Allergy to cows’ milk is prevalent especially at young ages and can be expressed in a reaction of the digestive system alone, multiple vomiting's and diarrhea. 

It is important to perform a correct diagnosis and differentiate between an allergy and intolerance resulting from a lack of an enzyme which is responsible for the digestion of lactose in the milk. 

A person with an allergy to milk must avoid milk in any form. Avoidance also includes products made of the milk of goats, sheep, buffalo and camels, low lactose products and products which may include milk. 

Additional products which include milk:

  • Butter

  • Ghee

  • Smen

  • Cream

  • Yogurt

  • Cheese

  • Buttermilk

  • Milk powder

  • Yogurt desserts

  • Ice cream

  • Whipped cream

  • Milk proteins – casein, cheese water, cheese powder

Milk may be found in drugs, soaps and creams. 

Sometimes an allergy to milk may appear along with an allergy to beef. 

It is recommended to consult with an allergology doctor with regards to cross reactions with additional religions from the same family. 

A person with a milk allergy must look only on the list of ingredients and allergen warnings. Do not refer to terms of kosher (dairy or pareve).

The population of people with milk allergy must refer only to the list of ingredients and allergen warnings, and not rely on dairy or parve kosher.

 

Fish

An allergy to fish usually causes severe allergic reactions up to life-threatening ones. 

It is important to know the symptoms of a severe allergic reaction called anaphylaxis. 

A person suffering from an allergy to fish must avoid fish in any form.

This includes any product which contains fish, or which may contain fish. 

Fish are an allergic which is released in the air, and therefore the location of fish near a person allergic to fish could cause a severe allergic reaction. 

When an allergic to one type of fish is discovered, it is important to avoid all types of fish until inquiring with an allergy doctor. 

Only an allergy doctor could recommend whether to avoid all types of fish or only the fish to which the allergic reaction a curd, and whether it is possible to be around fish during fishing, selling or cooking. 

Fish can be found in foods such as: 

  • Marshmallow

  • Gummy candy (fish gelatin)

  • Sauces (Caesar, Worcestershire)

  • Dishes (hraime, fish curry, bouillabaisse, moqueca)

  • Pastries etc.

 

Eggs

Allergy to eggs is extremely common amongst babies and toddlers. The allergy is to the protein of the egg, but since it is very difficult to fully separate the protein and the yolk, a person allergic to eggs must avoid eating both the protein and the yolk. 

A person allergic to chicken eggs may also be allergic to eggs of other poultry (quail, goose etc.) and sometimes even to chicken meat. 

Many of people allergic to eggs can eat a cooked egg which was cooked for a long time at a high temperature. 

When an allergic reaction appears, after eating an egg, it is important to refer to an accurate diagnosis by an allergy doctor and receive an instruction of whether it is possible to eat baked or cooked eggs in cakes, pies and other pastries. 

Eggs can be found in foods such as:

  • Mayonnaise

  • Krembo

  • Cakes and pastries

  • Merengue

  • Meatballs

  • Noodles

  • Pastas

  • Cheeses and such.

It is important to recognize additional names attesting to the existence of eggs in food: albumin and globulin.

 

Wheat

Wheat allergy is common among the entire population. A person allergic to wheat must avoid wheat and all products made of wheat.

Oftentimes, wheat allergy is confused with celiac disease, but these are different phenomena. A wheat allergy occurs when the body produces antibodies to all proteins in wheat. On the other hand, in celiac the gluten protein in wheat causes a different type of reaction in the immune system.

Wheat proteins can be found in many products, such as:

  • Bread and breadcrumbs

  • Cakes, cookies and muffins

  • Cereal

  • Pasta

  • Couscous

  • Semolina

  • Spelt

  • Seitan

  • Kamut

  • Wheat starch

  • Wheat germ

  • Rye

  • Barley

  • Oatmeal

  • Crackers

  • Soy sauce

  • All types of alcohol

 

Peanuts

Peanut allergy is very common, and usually causes severe allergic reactions up to life-threatening ones.

It is important to recognize the symptoms of a severe allergic reaction known as anaphylaxis. 

A person suffering from a peanut allergy must avoid peanuts in all forms including any product containing peanuts, or which may contain peanuts.

Peanuts are an allergen which may be released in the air and can be found in foods such as:

  • Bamba

  • Peanut butter

  • Sauces

  • Chocolates

  • Nuts and seeds mix

  • Cereals

  • Energy snacks

  • Peanuts attributed to the legume family:

  • Soy

  • Lentils

  • Beans

  • Peas

  • Chickpeas and lupine

  • In addition, peanuts may also be found in cosmetics such as Balneum Forte baby oil and pet food.

It is recommended to consult with an allergy doctor with regards to cross reactions with additional allergens from the same family.

Soy

Soy allergy is very common among children.

For most children, the soy allergy will go away by the age of 10.

Soy is part of the legume family.

Peanuts, lentils, beans and chickpeas are also legumes.

A person allergic to soy may also be allergic to other legumes but it’s not definite.

Soy can be found in foods such as:

  • Sauces

  • Meat products

  • Fish

  • Additional products made of soy:

  • Tofu

  • Edamame

  • Okara

  • Tempeh

  • Lecithin miso

  • Soy milk

 

Nuts

Nut allergy is the second most common allergy which usually causes severe to life-threatening allergic reactions.

It is important to recognize the symptoms of a severe allergic reaction called anaphylaxis. 

Nut allergy can be to one nut or to a variety of nuts.

Types of nuts: walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts, brazil nuts, macadamia nuts, pistachios, cashews and almonds.

There is known connection of cross allergens between walnuts and pecans, cashew and pistachios. Many times, an allergy to one will also attest to an allergy to the other.

When an allergy is found to one type of nut, all nuts must be avoided until an inquiry is done by an allergy doctor.

Tests will enable the allergy doctor to recommend whether to avoid all nuts or just the nut which caused the onset of the allergic reaction.

Many people attribute a nut allergy to an allergy to peanuts, coconuts, pine nuts, nutmeg, shea and chestnuts.

Studies have shown that a nut allergy doesn’t necessarily mean that there will also be an allergy to the foods mentioned above, and it’s not possible to suggest that if there is an allergy to nuts and pine nuts or coconuts for example, it is because a connection between these foods or because the allergic tendencies of that person.

Foods which may contain nuts:

  • Nut spreads

  • Pesto

  • Chocolate snacks

  • Energy snacks

  • Cereals

  • Granola

  • Nutella (hazelnut)

  • Pastries

  • Dishes

  • Sauces

  • Marzipan (almonds)

  • Cold cuts

  • Cheeses/ vegan cheeses (cashew, macadamia)

  • Nut milk drinks

  • Creams, soaps and toothpastes are usually enriched with nut oils (almonds, macadamia)

 

Sesame

Sesame allergy is very common in Israel, due to a diet rich in sesame and food made from it.

A person allergic to sesame is at risk to develop an allergy to seeds as well. Consult with an allergy doctor to foods must be avoided when a sesame allergy is found.

Foods containing sesame include:

  • Tahini

  • Hummus

  • Halva

  • Pastries

  • Sauces

  • Dishes

  • Snacks

  • Spices

The marking regulations in Europe require marking sesame as an allergenic ingredient in food, however in the United States sesame is not one of the eight allergens which require marking, and therefore it will not necessarily appear in the list of allergen warnings. In addition, sesame can appear in the general writing of spices without specific reference.

 

Fruit and legumes

Fruit

Any fruit can cause an allergy, but there is a number of fruit to which an allergy is more common:

  • Kiwi

  • Banana

  • Avocado

  • Mango

  • Pineapple

 

Legumes

In recent years we are witnessing an increase in the number of people allergic to legumes (lentils, beans, peas, chickpeas).

A person allergic to legumes may also react to the cooking steam of legumes.

 

Download Aller-G